top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura Walsh

#RuralGwinnett, Justin's Perspective

Rural Gwinnett - I hadn't even heard that there was a rural area of Gwinnett until we moved out here.

The only times I had seen cows and farms was when I took long road trips. Now I was living close enough to drive by them every day, on the way to work or to the grocery store.


One of the many highlights out here in #RuralGwinnett is the night sky. A clear night sky means all the stars plus the moon, in all it's glory. I hadn't seen a sky that beautiful until I moved out here and I've been in Gwinnett since I was young. You might think its an exaggeration, but with low density neighborhoods, and no major 

roads close by, it's easy to fall for the atmosphere out here.

Coming from 316 and Harbins Rd. on the way to my house, I pass three farms and a small country store. I haven't had a drive like that since my early childhood in rural Vermont. 


While standing outside I can catch the sounds of cows, horses , chickens and donkeys at various times of the day. While this does take a little getting used to, these have become the sounds I expect from my neighborhood now, and I look forward to them each day. Have you ever heard a donkey at night? It's a little ominous at first but I've grown to love the nature sounds around my little neighborhood.


Personally, I think everyone who's moved out here came to this community for these reasons. We are close enough to make a day trip to Atlanta or Athens, but far enough that Atlanta's overcrowding and pollution doesn't have much impact us. We can enjoy all that Gwinnett has to offer, while still saying we live in the country.


Now that we've moved out here, my family and I are not willing to give it up without a fight. We love the quiet and the beautiful sounds of nature around us.


#RuralGwinnett is worth fighting for.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page